When you just don’t have a camera ready

Capturing Solar Dances

 

The sun, from its distant observation, shone

It’s light upon the far side of the moon,

Which hung out past our horizon;

A vast cloud bank over the mountains.

 

In the purple sky above a rising line of blue

Tinged yellow, the glow curled around

The curve of the moon – its back to Venus,

Reflecting the same light in

Full resplendence from much further away.

 

Had I had a camera, which could have

Captured the four Solar dancers

Through the window of the aeroplane

The way my eye did, well, it would have

Made a wonderful photo. But I didn’t.

 

Yet the scene is still forever captured;

Set in the store of my memory,

Seared upon my retina and etched

By my very nerve cells which shall

Never let me forget it.

 

I wrote this on the plane on the way to Israel last week as we flew the length of the  Mediterranean. I had my phone on airplane mode, but it just couldn’t do the scene justice, so I didn’t even bother.

About davidjmobrien

Writer, ecologist and teacher

Posted on February 17, 2016, in poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment